Log in

No account? Create an account
24 July 2013 @ 01:27 pm
ha ha  
So Jane Austen is set to become the face of the ten-pound note in 2017 or so:


That's pretty cool, actually. What's funny about this is the quotation they've chosen for the bill - "I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading!" Fans of Pride and Prejudice might recall that this is said not by some earnest scholar or by a passionate novel reader like Northanger Abbey's Catherine Morland, but by Caroline Bingley, to try to draw Mr. Darcy's attention, while reading a book that she's only chosen because it is the second volume of his.

But I guess Henry Tilney's remarks on taking pleasure in a good novel are too long to fit on currency...